Churches, Abbeys and Monasteries
Old Mellifont Abbey
Republic of Ireland
In 1142, St Malachy brought the European monastic lifestyle to Ireland when he founded Old Mellifont Abbey, the country’s first Cistercian monastery. The site is located just a 10-minute drive from Drogheda in County Louth.
Visitors can view the remains of Old Mellifont, which include a unique octagonal lavabo where the monks washed their hands. There are also remnants of the abbey’s gate and its church. For more information about the site, guests can stop into the visitor centre, which houses a related exhibition.
The visitor centre is completely accessible for guests with disabilities, but the main historical site is reachable only by stone stairway. Guests should wear shoes suitable for uneven terrain, as there are gravel pathways.
Late May - Late August : Daily 10am. - 6pm.
Last admission 45 minutes before closing.
Guided Tours: available on request.
Adult:€3 | Sen/Group:€2 | Child/Student: €1 | Family €8.
Leaflet / guide booklet in English, Irish, French, German, Italian and Spanish.
Guided tour | toilet facilities | toilets for people with disabilities | visitor centre | exhibition | car / coach park | picnic area | restricted access