OPEN


Museums and Attractions

Museums and Attractions

The Frank McCourt Museum

Contact

Hartstonge Street
Limerick City
Limerick
Republic of Ireland

The Frank McCourt Museum, in Limerick City, is a museum dedicated to the writer, and Pulizer Prize winner, Frank McCourt. McCourt is most famous for his book 'Angela's Ashes', his memoir of his childhood in Limerick.

This tudor-style, listed building, 'Leamy's School', was where Frank and his brothers received their early education. Leamy House (formerly known as Leamy School) is a tudor style, listed building with an interesting facade, complete with tower, turrets, ornamental chimneys and splendid gargoyles carved in limestone and sandstone.

The central area of the museum is a faithful re-creation of the former classroom of the 1930's, with authentic desks and wall hangings. Visitors can imagine the young Frank and his friends sitting at these desks as the teacher 'beat the education into them'.

Two rooms have been turned into a museum by Una Heaton and are a re-creation of the McCourts home in Roden Lane. Visitors can see first hand the living conditions expierienced by the McCourts and the other families who lived in the Lanes of Limerick.

The museum is open daily. Groups by appointment.

Descriptions
Opening Times

11.30am - 5.00pm, Mon to Fri & 2.00pm - 4pm Saturday & Sunday

Things To Do Nearby




Summer festivals
email icon Facebook logo Twitter logo Google+ logo LinkedIn logo Pinterest logo