OPEN


 

Kill

« Places To Go  « Home

Discover Kill

The Gaelic name for Kill is "An Chill" meaning "The Church". Kill has two Churches, St. Brigid's Catholic Church (the original church is believed to date back to around the 1650’s) and St John's Church of Ireland . There is a beautiful and very old organ in St. John's Church which was donated by the Earl of Mayo , who lived nearby in Palmerstown House, the organ has unusual keys, the normal positions of the black and white keys are reversed. There is also a half door in the church. These half doors used to be quite common in Churches but now have almost completely vanished and this particular example is reputed to be one of the last in Ireland. Kill has been identified as the burial place of the Kings of Leinster. The chapel bell in Kill was said to have been the first in Ireland to ring in celebration of Catholic Emancipation in 1829. St Brigid's Well in Hartwell (probably an earlier site of worship) was a place of pilgrimage until the 19th century and a sally tree covered with votive rags was recorded here in the 1890s. There are ruins of another 14th century church in Kerdiffstown There is a choice of four first class 18 hole golf courses all within a 6 mile radius of Kill all are open to Green Fees.there is also a Driving Range is 2 miles from Kill .Excellent Equestrian facilities also available and the famous Goff’s Bloodstock Sales Ring, where over half of all Irish bred horses are sold, is located nearby. Contact Kildare Tourist Office on +00 353 (0) 45 521240 Open all year Email: kildaretownheritagecen@ireland.com

Yellow flowers
email icon Facebook logo Twitter logo Google+ logo LinkedIn logo Pinterest logo