In the lovely village of Adare, found just 20 minutes from Limerick City, visitors can view the well-preserved ruins of a Franciscan friary established by Thomas, Earl of Kildare, in 1464. The remains include a tower, nave, cloisters and living quarters.
The monastery had a turbulent existence, as it was briefly suppressed in 1539. The friars who had returned were later expelled in 1581.
Mass continues to be celebrated here each year on Easter morning.
The site is accessed through Adare Manor Golf Club. Visitors should check in with the clubhouse before proceeding onto the course to ensure safe access.