Opened in 2014, the Carlingford Lough Greenway is a well-signposted, purpose-built walkway between Carlingford and the village of Omeath. It follows the disused Dundalk Newry & Greenore Railway tracks, which were closed in 1951.
Stretch your legs and follow the mostly flat gravel trail as it skirts along Carlingford Lough, taking around 1.5hr to complete. There are spectacular views to enjoy along the way, from the majesty of the lough itself to the surrounding Cooley Peninsula, Slieve Foye, and, on a clear day, as far as Warrenpoint across the border, nestled at the foot of the Mourne Mountains.
This route is a local favourite and likely to be buzzing with visitors and residents alike, all enjoying the abundant wildlife and the historic railway structures.
- With five access points between the Carlingford and Omeath trailheads, this walk is customisable in terms of length and duration.
- The atmospheric café at Carlingford Marina is open seven days a week for a bite to eat or a refreshing cuppa.