Located just 5km from Ballincollig, County Cork, Kilcrea Franciscan Friary was founded in 1465 by Cormac Laidir MacCarthy, Lord of Muskerry, who was also responsible for building the castles at Kilcrea, Blarney and Dripsey. He was killed in 1494 and is buried at the friary.
Under the protection of the MacCarthys, Kilcrea Friary remained inhabited during the 16th-century dissolution of the monasteries, but the late-19th century saw the end of the Franciscan tradition in Kilcrea.
Today, visitors can view the unique multi-windowed sacristy and scriptorium, found to the north of the chancel, which is the most decorative part of the building. Although nothing remains of the cloister arcade, the buildings that surround it are well preserved.