The National Gallery of Ireland was established in 1854 and opened in January 1864 in the heart of Dublin, a short stroll from Trinity College and Merrion Square. It boasts some 2,500 paintings and approximately 10,000 other works in different media including watercolours, drawings, prints and sculpture. Every major European school of painting is extensively represented. It also houses a renowned collection of Irish paintings, the majority of which are on permanent display.
The Gallery houses the Yeats Archives with works by Jack B Yeats, his father John Butler Yeats and other members of this artistic family. Come see one of the most-loved paintings in the collection, "The Meeting on Turret Stairs" an 1864 painting by Frederic William Burton. The newly-refurbished Millennium Wing has won awards and houses the Gallery Café.
You may avail of the Free audio tour guides to the permanent collection, including a children's audio tour. Free public tours are given at weekends (check website for details), as well as Sunday family activities & family drawing packs. Facilities include a shop, restaurant, telephones & cloakrooms, with wheelchair access to all levels. Special temporary exhibitions may need to be booked in advance & have paid admission (from 5pm - 8.30pm on Thursdays, this is reduced).