Portmarnock Golf Club opened on St Stephen’s Day 1894 with nine holes. It was extended to eighteen holes in 1896 with a new clubhouse and a further nine holes were added in 1971. The championship course follows the original layout although considerably lengthened. The only major change in the hole routing was the insertion in 1927 of a new par three, the 15th hole.
Over the years the club has carried out subtle changes to the links including their first hole, which has resulted in a stunning opening hole along the Baldoyle Estuary with a green which demands a very brave and precise approach shot.
Portmarnock Golf Club has hosted all of Ireland’s major championships from the Irish Ladies Close to the Irish Open, and also some of the world’s biggest events including the Canada Cup and the Walker Cup.
Visitors and groups who enjoy a golfing challenge will greatly enjoy the traditions and wonderful atmosphere that are the hallmarks of Portmarnock Golf Club.