The Kiltartan Gregory Museum is a hidden gem 40 minutes south of Galway City by car. It was built in 1892 and houses a rich collection of memorabilia, photographs, manuscripts, furniture and artefacts from the Gregory family of Coole House. Lady Augusta Gregory was a playwright who cofounded the Irish Literary Theatre and the Abbey Theatre, along with W. B. Yeats and Edward Martyn.
The museum includes a restored old Irish classroom from the 19th century and holds a comprehensive collection of genealogical and local historical records. Kiltartan Cross was made famous by W.B. Yeats, who claimed it was the most beautiful place in the world. Kiltartan Cross is also where the blind poet Rafferty met and fell in love with the “Beauty of Ballylee”, Márre ní hEidhie, and where he often played music for local dances.
This little red brick building is of architectural interest. This schoolhouse was built at the behest of Sir William Gregory, Lady Gregory's husband, and designed by her brother, architect Frank Persse. Brought back to life by the Kiltartan Gregory Cultural Society, it was officially opened by President Mary Robinson in 1996.
Adjacent to the museum is the beautiful Millennium Park and picnic area.
- A beautifully restored schoolhouse featuring a large collection of memorabilia and artefacts relating to Lady Augusta Gregory, playwright and cofounder of the Irish Literary Theatre and the Abbey Theatre.
- Tours are given by entertaining and knowledgeable guides and include a 19th century classroom.
- Provides comprehensive genealogical and historical records relating to families from the area.
- Associated with W.B. Yeats.