The Earl of Kildare founded the Augustinian friary at Adare, County Limerick in 1315. It was known as the Black Abbey due to the colour of the friars’ habit. Religious activities continued for about 200 years, until the community was suppressed in the mid-16th century.
Today, visitors can view the well-preserved cloisters as well as the church, in use by the Church of Ireland since 1807. Also not to be missed are the Quin and Dunraven families’ mausoleums.