Mother Macs Public House is known for its selection of craft beer and whiskey. The bar is owner operated by two local brothers and is located in Limerick’s Market Quarter adjacent to the famous Milk Market. The pub offers a large selection of craft beer both on draught and capped as well as having a large whiskey selection. Any visitor should ask about the whiskey of the month offers. The pub operates rotational craft beer taps with products selected from Ireland and beyond.
The pub has stayed respectful to its roots and has the distinction of being one of only a small handful of bars in the city without a TV. This adds to the atmosphere and all are welcomed to socialise in an authentic environment.
The current owners believe in highlighting the vast abilities and talent of local artists and the pub is filled with unique quirky touches. The unusual signage is courtesy of local sign writer Tom Collins. The exterior signage has been hand painted by Tom using traditional techniques and has featured on a number of international publications.
Internally, the bar remains unchanged from earlier days but has been restored to highlight the beauty. At the rear of the main bar is a quaint little snug bar called Peggy's Parlour. The pictures on the walls depict Limerick in the past times including the Milk Market.
The building is located just outside the walls of Irishtown, having a curved brick facade and is the ancestral home of the O’Malley family in Limerick. The building dates to 1787 when it was first listed in James Ferrars History of Limerick, however the exact age is not known.