Murrisk Abbey, dedicated to St Patrick, was established along the picturesque shores of Clew Bay, near Murrisk, in 1457 by the Augustinian order on lands granted to them by Hugh O’Malley, a local chieftain.
Today, the ruins retain some of the original architectural features including arched windows, in particular the impressive east window. Along the top of the south wall, there are the remnants of a battlement which would have been a defensive feature of the abbey. Also, there are two distinctive stone heads carved into the south and east walls.
To get to the abbey from Murrisk, visitors can follow the signposted 1km Murrisk Abbey Walk which brings them along a country lane to this delightful location.