The Quiet Man Museum is a must for The Quiet Man enthusiasts. It is an exact replica of the White O’Morn cottage in the movie. Award winning walking and chauffeur tours of The Quiet Man film locations depart daily from The Quiet Man Museum. The Quiet Man Museum offers an on-set experience with exact replicas of all the key furnishings, artifacts and costumes. The four poster bed, the tables and chairs which Mary Kate cherished, the thatched roof, emerald green half door and white washed front combine to charm all those who visit it.
The Quiet Man Museum showcases the largest collection of Irish newspaper articles from the time the movie was filmed. This first-hand account allows enthusiasts to read exactly what it was like when Hollywood took over the village of Cong in 1951. The Quiet Man Museum also houses the original fishing rod used in the movie, original production notes, Michaeleen Og’s horse Napoleon’s original harness and film promotional posters.
The walking tours of the film locations feature all of the original movie locations filmed in the village including Inisfree, the Pat Cohan’s Bar, the Dying Man’s house, the Reverend Playfair’s House, the courting scenes, the fight scenes, the patty fingers in the Holy water scenes and The Quiet Man commemorative statute. The Quiet Man walking tours last an hour consisting of an easy, accessible stroll around Cong village. Enthusiasts hear what the film stars were like, how they interacted with the locals and the locals’ involvement of the making of this Hollywood classic. The Quiet Man enthusiasts also have the opportunity to dress up as the various characters in the movie and re-enact some of the iconic scenes much to everyone’s delight.
The chauffeur tours are private tours which range from 90 minutes to a full day trip with the option of visiting every The Quiet Man film location.