Charles Hamilton built the beautiful Palladian style house in 1777 with the surveyor Joseph O’Brien. Successive generations have designed, developed and maintained the 10 acres of gardens which feature the Walled Garden, arboretum including camelias, rhododendrum and azaleas, vast shrubberies of berberis, magnolias etc and magnificent trees that are referenced in the Tree Council’s listings as some of the largest in Britain and Irleand. A lily pond, original herb garden, rockery and nut tree walk offer other jewels of interest.
Come in April to see the bluebell wood, camelias and the many varied daffodils and snowdrops especially the rare type brought back by soldiers from the Crimea. May boasts the fabulous cherry blossoms, blazing azaleas and the wisteria now climbing 50 feet over a yew tree. June sees a combination of blossoms and colourful plants and the glorious rhododendrons. Then there is the fantastic array of roses from climbers throughout the walled garden to the rose bed on the back lawn. Whenever there is always something showing in all its glory at Hamwood.
The house is steeped in history being the birthplace of the well know Irish artists Letitia and Eva Hamilton, as well as the iconic lady Caroline Hamilton (nee Tighe) whose influence on Hamwood is much in evidence as well as her art which depict such humorous observations on the society of the day back in the early 1800’s. Her close association with the eloping Ladies of Llangollen who both scandalised and intrigued society at the time, forms part of the history as does the long term relationship as agents to the Dukes of Leinster, whose family seat was at Carton just a few miles towards Maynooth.
Visitors can enjoy a tour and talk with refreshments after, from April to September in groups of 12 or more.