OPEN


 

Cong

« Places To Go  « Home

Discover Cong

Cong was also the filming location for the 1952 Oscar winning movie, ‘The Quiet Man’ which starred John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara. Filmed on the grounds of Ashford Castle, the movie has continued to resonate in the area and is still a major tourist attraction. Cong also has a fine example of a ruined medieval abbey, where Rory O'Connor, the last High King of Ireland, is reputed to have died. It also contains Celtic art in the form of a metal cross shrine called the Cross of Cong, which shows Viking influences. The 'Cross of Cong' is now held in the National Museum of Ireland, Dublin. Cong loop walks give an excellent overview of the village. The walks commence at Cong Abbey and the walker is given a deep insight into the history of Cong en route. Cong is also home to many fine caves and ‘Teach Aille’ was reputed to have been used by the monks as a fridge or larder. It is now possible to discover the Monks fishing house which is renowned as a place for fishing and meditation. Underground streams connect Lough Corrib with Lough Mask to the north while for nature lovers, the Abbey grounds have many specimens of Yew. Ashford Castle is also home to Mayo’s only school of falconry. Corrib Cruises run a variety of excellent boat trips from Ashford Castle on Lough Corrib. The Corrib is regarded by fisherman as one of the finest fishing lakes in the country. For visitor information contact the Westport Tourist Information Office on +353 (0)98 25711 or e-mail westport@failteireland.ie

Yellow flowers