Coney Island, in County Sligo, is approximately 400 acres and is so named because of the vast quantity of rabbits which can be spotted on the island at any time.
In 1862 the island had a population of 124 people, with 45 children attending the local school. The island now has only one family of permanent inhabitants (traceable there back until the 1750s) but houses many other temporary residents, especially in the summer months.
Visitors to Coney Island like to frequent the local pub, spot the faerie ring and Napoleopic star shaped forts, visit Carty’s strand (the secluded beach to the rear of the island) for a swim or walk around the island to spot rabbits or the schoolhouse and other famine structures which remain.
There are also stories of faeries, mermaids and spirits here and visitors can try to find the elusive St Patrick's wishing chair, St Patrick's well, the remains of a washed up whale and some fairy forts in this very relaxing retreat.
Coney Island is accessible by driving or walking over the causeway (guided by the 14 pillars) at low tide. Visitors should check tide times locally.