The Nenagh Gaol gatehouse historically housed those sentenced to death by public hanging. Between 1842 and 1858, 17 Tipperary men were executed here. After its closure, the property was taken over by the Sisters of Mercy for educational purposes and there are still two schools on the premises.
The Governor's House is now home to the museum where visitors can learn about the history of the gaol complex, the Nenagh area and its local history. There are tours to discover the social history of this turbulent time. Visitors can walk in the steps of a condemned prisoner and learn what the living conditions were like in rural Ireland.
- Discover what life in Nenagh Gaol was like.
- Hear the stories of some of the prisoners kept there.
- Learn about the history of Nenagh.
Take a stroll to Banba Square, to see the Nenagh Courthouse. Built in 1843, it offers a great photo opportunity.