An Anglo-Norman fortress in north County Wexford, Ferns Castle was built in the 13th century, possibly by William Marshal, First Earl of Pembroke. Only half of the castle now remains, but a modern visitor centre located on-site features information about the historical site as well as the well-known Ferns Tapestry.
Depicting the history of Ferns in stitch work, from the arrival of Saint Aidan in 598 AD to the coming of the Normans in 1169, the Ferns Tapestry remains a valuable historical artefact today.
Originally Ferns Castle formed a square, with large corner towers; today the most complete tower contains a fine circular chapel, with carved ornaments. The tower also features several original fireplaces and a vaulted basement, while archaeological excavations have revealed a rock-cut ditch outside the castle walls.