The design of the St. Fethlimidh’s Cathedral is in middle-pointed Gothic style. The most interesting feature is arguably its 12th-century Romanesque doorway. Built into the north side of the building, the doorway was removed from an ancient abbey on Trinity Island in Lough Oughter.
There are a number of fine stained glass windows in the church, created by famous glass artists such as the notable Catherine O’Brien. The cathedral is known today as the Bedell Memorial Church after William Bedell, who was bishop of Kilmore from 1629-1642. He was responsible for translating the Bible into the Irish language.
Learn about Bedell's life in Kilmore and visit his burial place under the giant sycamore tree. There are a number of ornate headstones in the old community graveyard dating back to 1688. Walk toward the motte and bailey opposite the cathedral for a picturesque stroll.
From here why not go along to Moth Studios in the centre of Cavan town.