The Franciscan friary of Timoleague was founded in the late 13th or early 14th century and today extensive ruins remain in the village, which is located in County Cork, just 10km east of Clonakilty.
Visitors can explore the long church, nave, transept, cloister and tower. They can also find a bullaun stone and fine windows.
It’s believed that either Donal Glas MacCarthy or William Barry founded the friary, which survived until it was burnt by English soldiers in 1642.
Walk along the estuary on what was once the old railway line to Courtmacsherry.