Opened in 2014, the Carlingford Greenway is a well-signposted, purpose-built walkway between Carlingford and the village of Omeath that follows the disused Dundalk Newry & Greenore Railway tracks, which were closed in 1951.
Stretch your legs and follow the mostly flat, gravel trail as it skirts along Carlingford Lough, taking around 1.5hr to complete. There are immense views to enjoy along the way, from the majesty of the lough itself to the surrounding Cooley Peninsula, Slieve Foye, and, on a clear day, as far as Warrenpoint across the border, nestled at the foot of the Mournes.
This route is a local favourite, and likely to be buzzing with visitors and residents alike, all enjoying the abundant wildlife, historic railway-era structures, and religious markers like a Station of the Cross, a Lourdes grotto, and the famous coffin of Fr. Aloysius Gentili, on view to the public.
- With five access points between the Carlingford and Omeath trailheads, this walk is customisable in terms of length and duration.
- The atmospheric café at Carlingford Marina is open seven days a week for a bite to eat or a refreshing cuppa.