Tuamgraney is one of the most notable and important ecclesiastical and historical places in Ireland. It is mentioned in the Annals no fewer than thirty two times between 735 AD and 1582 AD.
Brian Boru, High King of Ireland 1002-1014, is recorded as having repaired Saint Cronan’s church and it’s long disappeared round tower. Visitors to the building therefore enter through the same doorway as Brian Boru did over 1000 years ago. It is a rare surviving building with a recorded link to Brian Boru.
The doorway is considered a marvel of early Christian church architecture and features in many publications. The eastern portion of the church was added in the 12th century and contains a number of features of interest from the Romanesque period.
There is signage to explain the history and features of the building. The church is open each day to visitors unattended from 1 April to 30 September. Outside these times the unique doorway can be viewed without going inside.